For the first time since 2003, President Muhammadu Buhari has won Nasarawa state, defeating his counterpart, Atiku Abubakar by 37,896 votes.

Results collated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Lafia, the state capital, shows that President Buhari polled 279,315 votes to defeat Atiku who polled 241,419 votes.

Worlddraft Blog reports that Buhari won in eight local governments areas in the state while Atiku won in five local governments.

History reveals that this is the first time the Peoples Democratic Party has lost Nasarawa state in a presidential election since then return to democracy in 1999.

Subscribe by placing your Email Address in field below so that you we always receive notification of latest news post.

Join 291 other followers

The president got his highest number of votes in Lafia, the state capital, where he polled 55,254, while Atiku got his highest votes in Karu local government after polling 49,292.

You may have missed